The Everest Kitchen, Marrickville

One of my favourite activities, like all kids these days, is travelling. And whilst travelling to Bali and getting drunk under the full moon on a beach and waking up the next morning with a cracking headache has its merits, I’m talking of the kind of travel where you throw caution to the wind, don’t look back over your shoulder and head to the great unknown – the countries with few westerners, even fewer english speakers and lots of weird and wonderful experiences.

Having had a recent spate of itchy feet for a good old travel abroad, stymied somewhat by my depressing annual leave and bank balances, I grabbed a dining friend and off we set, towards the setting sun, to the Everest Kitchen in Marrickville.

For a Saturday night, the atmosphere was worryingly subdued, but nevertheless, we were seated in the nicely Nepalese-themed restaurant. Once again, the mistake was made in nominating me as the designated dish chooser, which due to my excitement in trying new things invariably results in gross over-ordering.

We kicked off the night with an entree of six buffalo momo ($9). We’d demolished half by the time I remembered I was in the business of blogging. They looked fairly gyoza-like although were steamed, not fried. Having only had momo once previously, many years ago in the cultural epicentre that was early 2000s Brisbane, I had a different image in my head of a palm-sized circular, taller, very meaty dumpling, but what we ate at Everest Kitchen wasn’t bad. The filling was tasty, and went well with the cooling coriander-y dipping sauce, although I can’t say that the flavour of the buffalo was particularly striking. The pastry had a sufficiently chewy texture, though.

Mo' momo

Mo’ momo

We also had the potato cake ($7), which although fairly standard, was demolished before I had a chance to photograph.

For the mains, we went with a gargantuan plate of Everest grilled lamb ($18). Majority of the pile of lamb was very tender (although there were a couple of grissly pieces that involved animalistic chewing somewhat reminiscent of Homer Simpson wrestling a pork chop – you know what I’m talking about:

Hey, that's my pork chop

Hey, that’s my pork chop

Nevertheless, the lamb had a nice grill-y flavour and was a very generous serve. I’m not exactly sure what was so Everest-y about it, though. And guys – if you’re going to go with the side salad, don’t pull it from some container that’s been sitting around, drowning in dressing for the last 8 hours. The slightly spicy, almost capsicum-y sauce to the left was a nice accompaniment.

Everest lamb

Everest lamb

As if that wasn’t enough, I had spotted the table next to us scoffing down a platter of several dishes ($23). We clearly had to get this

 

Traditional Nepalese dinner set

Traditional Nepalese dinner set

I felt it was a pretty decent representative sample. Clockwise from the suspicious greeny liquid to the back – a dhal which was disappointingly underwhelming, although which had a nice texture in that you could still tell the lentils existed. Then, pappadums – pretty hard to stuff those up. The forest green veg was next – I think these were mustard leaves and as anyone who knows what hell my parents inflicted on me throughout my childhood with their incessant love of mustard plant…I’m not a huge fan. They were cooked well, though, retaining their crunchy texture. Next up, a red plate of a pickly chutney of some sort. I was expecting it to be a little punchier, but it had great flavour. There was a cooling yoghurt next – nothing too exciting, but was a nice contrast. Then a very tender chicken curry with a decent serving of the meat – this was probably my favourite of the plate. Last up, a bamboo curry, which was actually pretty good. Not particularly hot, but retained the nice flavour and texture of bamboo shoots.

That was about all we could fit in and with satisfied stomachs, we rolled ourselves out the door and into the night. The Everest Kitchen was nice, homely, had good service and the food was quite good, if not a little patchy in some areas – but hey, doesn’t that all add to the charm?

The Everest Kitchen
314 Victoria Road, Marrickville

Food: 6/10
Drinks: a can of lift is hard to mess up, although they did have a couple of lassis available
Atmosphere: 7/10 – a nice, non-tacky selection of photos, prayer flags and other Nepalese ornaments
Recommend it? I actually think it’d be a cool place to grab a bunch of friends and have a bit of a birthday feast. It’s not too expensive, the look of the place is nice, the service is good. The food is generally pretty good, though not outrageously overwhelming.

 

The Everest Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Comment, rate, appreciate

