Do you know the muffin man?

You know how you’re walking along and, all of a sudden, rays of sunlight and a holy glow bring before you a delicious, plump, fresh, perfectly iced little cupcake. It is the picture of perfection. You start drooling. You forget that lame attempt at a diet you started last week. You think to yourself….man I could really go for a bite of that. And then you do. You bite into it. And you’re like… err… that was underwhelming.

Where are the flavour in these cupcakes? I’m talking the cupcake itself, not the icing. They’re always vanilla. And while vanilla and I are sometimes friends, I just want more.

Anyhoo, without further ado, I present to you some of the most delicious cupcakes I have tasted in a while. I actually nicked it from  another website (thanks bbc!) but here it is anyway. I recently made these for a friend’s birthday, topped with a thick, sickening chocolate buttercream frosting – oh, and a macaron. (More on that one later).

Raspberry Cupcakes

You will need:
– 200gm self-raising flour
– 2 teaspoons baking powder
– 200gm unsalted butter, softened
– 4 eggs
– 200gm caster sugar
– 3 tablespoons milk
– 50gm ground almonds
– grated zest of an orange
– as many raspberries as you can cram in. Nah, but in all seriousness, say, at least a cup? You don’t want it to be the case that you end up with soggy raspberries barely held together with even soggier batter, but equally, who likes a cupcake that has one berry in it?

Step 1 – sir mixalot: whack everything but the raspberries into a bowl / mixer and beat like crazy. Make sure it’s all nice and smooth – you really can’t go wrong. Oh – and preheat your oven to 160 fan forced (or 180 otherwise)

I’m going stir crazy!

Step 2 – raspberry kiss: When it’s all smooth and cruisy, then fairly gently fold in your raspberries so they don’t break up too much (…unless you want broken up raspberries, in which case, go right ahead).

Step 3 – totally baked, man: Pour your mixture into your muffin tin of choice and whack in your preheated oven for 20-25 minutes until golden / just firm. Stick a tester in it – if it comes out with little crumb-lets on it, then your muffins are done! If it’s all sticky and gooey, leave it in for a few more minutes and try again.

Yay cupcakes

Basically, these cupcakes are great. They are super moist because of the MASSIVE amount of eggs and also the almond meal. They have a nice tang from the raspberries and the unusual hint of orange adds excitement. I was actually a huge fan of the chocolate frosting combination due to my outrageous love of chocolate orange.

9 comments on “Do you know the muffin man?

  1. Hello! I found your blog and love your posts : ) I thought I would let you know that I have nominated you for an award called the Liebster Award. You can see where I’ve nominated you at my blog http://ilovejenscupcakery.wordpress.com and how to take part at http://ilovejenscupcakery.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/blogger-award-nomination/

    • perkinsh says:

      Hiii wow, thank you so much! It’s been really fun inflicting my recipes on everyone! So I have to write 11 facts about myself? Challenge accepted! Now I just need to hassle you for 5 questions about me haha.

      • Ah, forgot that part! 😉 Right….

        1) If you had to make and eat one meal for the rest of your life (and only one thing) what would it be?
        2) Biggest culinary disaster?
        3) Who is your biggest influence when it comes to cooking?
        4) If you were on a desert island, which 5 food items would you take with you?
        5) What is your favourite thing about baking?

  2. bakingandme says:

    I’m a new reader to your blog! I love it especially the name it’s too cute 🙂 I can’t wait to try this recipe.

    • perkinsh says:

      Hiiiii thanks very much!! Right back at ya – that tomato soup cake looks epic and interesting. I’ll be trying that one out for sure (as long as I can find condensed tomato soup, that is!)

  3. Fenwicky says:

    They sound awesome. Thanks for the taste test at the end. You really are a kitchen goddess-in-waiting. Watch out Nigella.

  4. […] it a little. It was a nice, tart touch (especially because I had topped my chocolate frosted cupcakes with […]

  5. […] 2 – mix it up: this is quite possibly the easiest recipe since those raspberry muffins I made a little while back and is pretty much the same theory: chuck everything into a bowl and mix […]

Comment, rate, appreciate

